Email Archive FAQ
How does it work?
- A PST file is an Outlook file that used to archive Outlook emails.
These archived emails don’t count against your mailbox space.
- Everyone now gets 50 GB email storage — 50 times more than you had. No more archiving emails into PST files.
- Now, you can save as many emails
as you want, easily
- Easier to access archived emails
from non-Methodist smartphones or
- Better than the old system that
sometimes lost archived emails
- Safer from an online security
- No more trouble with corruption of local PST files.
- The process will be as follows:
- The day of the migration you will receive an email notifying you that the migration is about to begin:
- If Outlook is open at the
time you are enabled for the
see a screen like this:
- After you restart Outlook,
in few minutes you will receive a notification like the one below:
- When you click ‘Start Migration' button, you’ll see
a screen showing all your
archived emails (in something
called ‘PST files’)
- You can save or delete
your archived emails:
save your archived emails,
click 'Migrate' (This will
move the emails from your PST
file into your mailbox)
delete your archived emails,
click 'Delete' (This will
delete the PST file)
- Next click the 'Migrate
Now' button to start the
process. Note: this
process can take a few
minutes or several hours
depending upon how much email
- Once all email has been
moved you will receieve
another pop up box.
Click ‘Complete Migration’
button – this deletes the old
PST files, but keeps the
archived emails you want to
save. We’ll keep
backups of your deleted PST
files for 30 days
Once completed, you will see a PST_Import folder in Outlook.
- It will be on the same level as your Inbox, Sent Items and Drafts folders.
- PST Import folder also has subfolders with the same names as your
archived email folders (eg, PST file you named ‘Archive 1’ will show
up in PST Import folder as ‘Archive 1’ subfolder).
- Depends on how many archived emails (PST files) you have
- If you have just a few, maybe a few minutes
- If you have a lot, up to several hours
- Yes but they're 'read only'
- You can retrieve emails, forward, reply etc. but you just cannot
add any more data to your PSTs during the migration
- Yes – contact IT Help Desk within 30 days
- But after 30 days, you can’t get back any archived emails
- Change your Outlook rules to move to a new folder in your regular
Outlook email – contact IT Help Desk if you need help
- Yes – contact IT Help Desk and let them know